top of page

Are You Ready For Some Football?


I remember sitting on my couch watching as the ball passed through the goal post.

Suddenly it got real quiet in my house. Let’s rewind…when I was about three years old my grandfather used to get me up every Sunday morning. He would go into the kitchen and get a cup of coffee, then he would prop me up onto his lap and we would watch football. My grandfather was an awesome man, he was the only real male role model that I had growing up. I remember sipping coffee with him (that explains my 5 cup a day habit now). As the years passed by I would always like the team in the purple…little did I know then, how much pain they would cause me later.

My grandfather was a big Raiders fan and if you haven’t guessed it by now I am a huge Vikings fan. When the Raiders and the Vikings met in the Superbowl I lost a whole dollar to my grand father. Yea, those were good times. You see football and sports have always been a big  apart of my life.

Back to my opening statement…so the ball passes through the goal posts and just like that the season is over. Once again my Vikings have failed me, they gave me a great season but they just couldn’t finish strong. I am so glad that God isn’t like the Vikings. You see God would never fail me, as a matter of fact here’s a quick story of his faithfulness.

In 1997 my grandfather was dying. I was newly married and just recently accepted Jesus as my Lord and Savior.  As far as I ever knew, my grandfather wasn’t a spiritual man, I don’t ever recall him telling me about God or making God a priority in his life.  But that day when we were in his hospital room, I asked him;

Donald, have you accepted Jesus Christ as your Lord and Savior?  He replied…Well sure I have Chico. Those were the greatest words I have ever heard him speak.

You see,  God never quits, He’s always working to bring us back to Him.

So as another football season begins I am prepared for Brett Favre and the Vikings to break my heart, but who knows maybe this is the year that they too, will finish strong.

bottom of page